Every state has a different set of laws applicable to rental and tenancy matters. Understanding and keeping updates on such laws, your rights and responsibilities will keep you protected under law. While making a Residential Lease agreement you must pay attention to the rules and laws applicable.
Here are the rental laws applicable in the state of Texas:
- Landlord and Tenant General Provisions – Title 8, Chapter 91
- Landlord and Tenant – Commercial Tenancies – Title 8, Chapter 93
- Landlord and Tenant – Residential Tenancies – Title 8, Chapter 92
- Uniform Condominium Act – Title 7, Chapter 82
- Texas Civil Rights Division – Fair Housing Fact Sheet
- Texas Fair Housing Act – Title 15, Chapter 301
These rules outline in a greater detail the rental laws applicable in rent lease agreements.
Court – Related Matters:
Texas, Small Claims Court limit, is set at $10,000. The laws do not permit collection agents, collection agencies, money lenders and money brokers to use the small claims court.
Details of the Security deposit:
A Texas Residential lease Agreement has no statute on security deposit amount, the interest, pet deposits or additional fees, etc. Rental lease agreement in Texas demands that the landlords prepare written descriptions or itemized lists of damages and charges. Document should also state the deadline of returning the security deposit i.e., 30 days.
Details on Rent and Lease:
As per the rental laws in the Texas, there is no statute for rent increase notices or returned check fees. It allows charging of late fees, only up to a permissible amount. The state has no guidelines for rent withhold by tenant if landlord fails to provide essential services. The rental laws of state prohibit subletting without prior consent and requires a landlord to make a reasonable attempt to re-rent if the tenant vacates.
Details on Notices and Entry
According to rental laws and lease agreement in Texas, before terminating a yearly lease, a landlord has to give one month’s notice. In case of non-payment, a 3-day eviction notice can be given, to pay or to move out. There is no particular statute in the state laws governing notices of lease violations. The Rental Lease Agreement you sign may not control what happens to the issuance of notices of entry during a tenant’s extended absence or emergency entry without notice.
Now that you have learnt enough about the Texas Residential Lease Agreement, you can create one online for free with forms.Legal. They offer free forms and templates for all the legal documents across all the states of the US.