Every county in the United States has separately defined laws pertaining to Rental Lease agreements, and these rules change with the regions. What can be worse than going through a massive list of residential laws and the landlord-tenant laws, and yet find yourself on the wrong side of the laws. One may need to pay dearly for the minor mistakes or ignorance about rules and regulations mentioned in the residential lease agreement.
To ensure that your lease agreement doesn’t attract unnecessary legal action against you, fill the Nevada Residential lease agreement for free and here is what to expect in it.
The county of Nevada has the following rules and regulations associated with Rental lease agreements:
- Title 3, Chapter 40- Actions and Proceedings in Particular Cases Concerning Property
- Title 10, Chapter 18 – Discrimination in Housing; Landlord and Tenant
- Title 10, Chapter 18A – Landlord and Tenant: Dwellings
- Title 10, Chapter 18B – Landlord and Tenant: Manufactured Home Parks
- Title 10, Chapter 18C – Landlord and Tenant: Commercial Premises
Notices and entry
- The state has no defined statute if the landlord provides notice for termination of yearly leases. A 30-day notice can be given for termination of monthly leases though and a 7-day notice for weekly leases.
- In case of non-payment, the notice of termination or eviction is for five days.
- For lease violation, there is a 5-day eviction notice.
- For entry, a 24-hour notice is required.
- No statute of entry during a tenant’s extended absence.
- Emergency entry acceptable without any notice
- The landlord cannot shut off utilities and have a lockout.
- The state law of Nevada allows security deposit not more than the rent of three months.
- No laws governing security deposit interest and any additional amounts, or the need to create a separate security deposit bank account.
- The landlord must return the security deposit within 30 days of termination of a residential lease.
- The owner must prepare a written description and itemized list of charges and damages.
- No statute governing record keeping of the deposit with holdings.
Rent, Lease, and Fees
- To increase rent, a notice of 45 days is given. For periodic rental leases, a notice of less than one month or 15 days is compulsory.
- No statute for prepaid rent, late fees, or returned check fees.
- The tenant can deny rent if the owner fails to provide essential services.
- The tenant is allowed to repair and deduct rent.
- The landlord should mitigate any damages to the lessee, including making attempts to re-rent.
Miscellaneous Disclosures & Rules
- Duties of a Landlord and tenant
- Displaying the US flag
- The landlord must hand a detailed move-in checklist
- The lease must summarize the rules of maintenance and any penalties applicable
- Conditions for refunding deposit must be stated